Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Pink Ribbon Month

We all know that it's Breast Cancer Awareness month so I'm going to put my two-cents worth in and tell everyone to schedule their mammograms. (OK guys- you can stop reading here!!)

The doctors say that you should schedule your first mammogram by age 40, if there is no family history to do so earlier.  I waited until I was 45 to have my first and shouldn't have waited so long.  Long story short,  after multiple mammograms, sonograms, biopsies and surgery, everything was benign, but it was a long 3-4 months to get those results.  Every year, when I schedule my appointment, I always have the "what if" thoughts. Yes, I've had further biopsies over the years, but they say early diagnosis is the best, so call today!!



Until next time, when I continue the rantings and ravings of a mom of an
American Dream Family.....

Friday, October 12, 2012

Bike Week

Joe and I were down the beach last weekend for Fall bike week.  Joe sure knows how to treat a girl right. We went to the Rat Hole, Spokes and Bones, and the Beaver Bar. We ate dinner at the Dead Dog Saloon.  Actually we had a good time.  This bike week is different than spring. It's mostly "older" couples (like our age), basically professionals living the biker life. And no, I don't do leather chaps or halters.

Chad (aka Kenny) and Crystal, our beach neighbors, were out and about with us. I felt better having another female with me at these places.  The bars weren't that bad.  I was only uncomfortable at Spokes and Bones. It seemed to be more of a hard core biker bar.  I was having thoughts of the "Wild Hogs" movie.

Of course the weather is warm and sunny.  Anything to be away from Pittsburgh's 40's and rainy.

My idea of bike week.....



Just kidding. Here's a pic of Joe's Harley







Have a fun and safe day

Until next time, when I continue the rantings and ravings of a mom of an
American Dream Family.....



Tuesday, October 2, 2012

Doctors

I know- I've been quiet for a few weeks. Really nothing has inspired me to write until now.

Some of you know that Cody's back has been bothering him. He finally got an appointment with a back specialist at UPMC and he's on his way to feeling better (hopefully), but I digress. I'll keep you posted on his back progress.

Since his back's been hurt, he hasn't been able to physically practice with the lacrosse team but he goes to practice every day.  Last Sunday, he was heading to the locker room and he got hit in the face with a stray lacrosse ball.  He came home and I took him to a Med Express. They said they weren't sure whether or not his nose was broken but to go see a Ear, Nose, and Throat doctor. 

We went to a ENT in Greensburg on Friday and was told it was broken. He had three options- do nothing (which the doctor said wasn't the answer), have an inter office procedure done where they will straighten the broken bones, or third, have surgery, what was to best option according to the doctor.  This ENT, a Dr Klingensmith, was the most socially awkward person I've ever met. He spoke with his eyes closed. He never answered our questions and acted like we were wasting his time asking questions.  Cody and I left the appointment totally confused, knowing that we had no confidence in this man.  So we decided on a second opinion. 

We realized that we had a limited time period to make a decision since the bones were healing, making any procedures more difficult.

So before the second doctor appointment, we told Cody not to eat or drink anything for several hours before in case they would do the surgery that  day.

Our second doctor, sat down, made eye contact with us and asked questions.  He asked if Cody's nose bled when it was hit, if it turned black and blue and if it looks crooked.  Cody answered no to 2 of the 3 questions.  Before reviewing the xrays, he said that he didn;t think it was broke.  After looking at the xrays, he said that it was definitely not broke.  We were shocked.  He showed us the xrays to confirm his opinion.

So here we were, anticipating the worse and that Cody would be having some sort of procedure done. If we had not gone for a second opinion, Cody would have been having surgery with a 4 week recovery.  What would the fist doctor had said when the surgery team was supposed to be repairing a nose, and it was perfectly fine!!!

  We asked the second doctor and he said, (very PC), that he couldn't second guess another doctors opinion.

So as a consumer, what do you do???   Joe thought we should contact the first doctor's office manager and complain.  Someone told me we should contact our insurance company and complain about him.

Not sure what we are doing to do  --- I'm just glad Cody didn't have to suffer through an unnecessary surgery.

Until next time, when I continue the rantings and ravings of a (now happily, overprotective, asks lots of questions)  mom of an
American Dream Family.....

Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Bunko 5

Last week was our monthly Bunko night. Terry U was our gracious host. Her theme was a floral shop design, so fitting for her.  Being the overachiever she is, she had flowers everywhere, even in her newly built enclosed porch/room.  The room is a wonderful addition to her home's living space.  Everyone remarked on how spotless her windows were!!

The winning prizes were of course flowers, all arranged in reusable hot/cold "baskets".  Tina and Patty had a competition going for the 1st place roses gift.  Of course, as usual, I didn't win anything. But at least I've won once, unlike Donna.  If she doesn't win soon, I think we'll have to give her a special gift at the end of the year!

Next month is my turn and I hope I can live up to all of the expectations created by the past hostesses. I think with all of the testosterone in my house, I may have to go with a all girl, feminine theme.


Until next time, when I continue the rantings and ravings of a mom of an
American Dream Family.....

Tuesday, September 11, 2012

Newfies

I found this on another blog and laughed until I cried. I know the boys will think this is humorous especially #14.  Joe will like #4. I personally can relate to #23, especially the black and blue marks on my feet from Koal stepping on me.

Everyone knows Koal is big, furry, and drools.  But this really sums it up well!

 

How To Tell If You Are Ready For A Newfoundland

(Borrowed from www.newf.net)


1) Lift a hundred pound bag of wet sand up and down the stairs

2) Push a hundred pound bag of wet sand into your car

3) Borrow a pony and purchase a Dremel and practice dremeling the pony's hooves while on your hands and knees..be sure to remember to give him carrots

4) Smear hair gel all over your walls and throw it on the ceiling and TV, while you are at it...smear the lower half of all windows, curtains, and glass doors

5) Wear old football cleats and run and slide on your wood floors

6) Smear your toilet seat in more gel and bits of mulch and grass

7) Throw away all light colored dress clothes, purses, and shoes

8) Rub fur and gel into the roof of your vehicle

9) Drip lotion out of the windows and down the sides of your car

10) At least twice daily drop that bag of wet sand on your bare foot

11) Shake balls of fur, mulch, and a bucket of dirt all over your house daily (add water for rainy days) for variety add bits of toilet paper, shaving cream, and feathers

12) Throw chains and some of that gel on your stainless steel appliances

13) Stand on your dishwasher door while it is opened

14) Practice repeating " NEWFOUNDLAND....no, it's not a Black Great Pyrennes..150 pounds....4-8 cups a day....no, I don't have a saddle" over and over with a smile

15) Volunteer at the zoo to help wash the large animals and clean up their poop

16) Invite your friends over and have them all try to get in the bathroom while you are using it

17) Throw muddy wet rocks on the floor and walk on it in bare feet in the dark, you may not scream or you will wake someone

18) Have someone operate a chain saw outside your bedroom door all night...record this and play it every night right next to your ear

19) Take a nice long piece of rubber hose and go around smacking all the coffee mugs off the end-tables and hit any close male in the privates and just smack your own legs a few times, too.

20) Take shampoo, egg whites, and a gal of water and make big pools on your tile floors.....run through this windmilling your arms and yelling whoopeee!

21) Pull back your sheets and fill your bed with a bag of yard clippings and sand, add a branch and a bone..... carefully re-make your bed...smear your pillow with hair gel

22) Practice sleeping on the outside 6" of your bed with no pillow and that wet bag of sand next to you...your blankets are to be under the bag of sand

23) Practice telling people that your husband does NOT beat you, that those bruises are from your dogs

24) Stuff your washer with your best bedding and another one of those bags of yard clippings and hair.....add a couple of branches and bones and run

25) Remove your normal dryer vent and just run a temporary hose out your laundry window for venting hair

26) Without smiling, offer to drive your friends for a dressy night out

27) Bend all your eye-glasses and smear with more of that gel

28) Invest in a vacuum company

29) Invest in a dog food company

30) Purchase a vacation home for your veterinarian

31) Walk around your grocery store talking loudly on your cell phone saying BITCH and SPERM COUNT and BITCH PANTIES and IMPORTED SEMEN over and over

32) Take Rosanne Barr to your next school event and hold hands with her while she sings the national anthem....smile proudly!

33) Lay a sand bag in front of your sink, in front of the refrigerator and in front of the dishwasher.. ..now cook for 10 guests

34) Stand at your back door from dawn til dark opening and closing it

 
 

Until next time, when I continue the rantings and ravings of a mom of an
American Dream Family.....

Monday, September 10, 2012

Self Checkouts

My latest grumble- And I've grumbled about this before are Self Checkouts in stores.

There are two thoughts to these lanes.  One is it should be faster than a checkout manned with a cashier, if the store is really busy.

And two, you don't have to deal with a crabby cashier if you aren't in the mood.

Yesterday I stopped in Giant Eagle to pick up a few things. I stopped in one that I generally don't go to because I'm not a fan. But it was next to the Home Depot.  Needless to say, there were lines everywhere - 5-6 people deep.  So I opted for the self checkout with my 25+ items, which include 15 Powerade bottles.  The line went fast, even though the two people ahead of me had to get a manager for help with problems.  Then there was me.

I scanned all of my items. Of course, three things wouldn't scan. So I set them aside and waited for help. During which, I grumbled with the woman waiting behind me. We both complained that if they want you to use a self checkout, they should make sure everything scans properly.  I also said that why do they put 30 checkout in if they are only going to open half of them.  The help came and got my items scanned. Then when it was time to pay, I kept getting an error message that I was over my item limit.  Really?  So the first manager came over and tried to override it several times.  Then a second manager came over to no avail.  Finally, they asked if I could step up to a different register for a third manager to try.  Ok - by now, I'm getting angry and embarrassed. I feel like everyone is watching, wondering how many other credit cards  I'm going to try before one works.  And of course, to make it worse, I know several people in line. What they don't know I'm still trying my only debit card. The third manager is polite and says he doesn't understand why the error message is coming up.  I tell him that I've had really large orders before and never had a problem.  Finally, he overrides the register and everything works out. By then, I'd like to yell to everyone watching that yes, I'm not overdrawn on my credit cards, and that it was a register error.

This is just one more reason for me not to go back into that store.


Until next time, when I continue the rantings and ravings of a mom of an
American Dream Family.....

Thursday, September 6, 2012

Chocolate



This link was an ad attached to one of of my blogs.  It promotes the chocolate lovers dream.

http://www.cocoavia.com/sweetened-30ct-box?gclid=CM-XzIrN7LECFcHd4AodDXYAng

I'm not promoting this product in any way and do not personally know anything about. But thought it was amazing how good they say chocolate is for you. If any of it is half true, I would be the healthiest person around!!

Patty- maybe this is the way to boost your sales!



Until next time, when I continue the rantings and ravings of a mom of an
American Dream Family.....